Out for an Early Morning Troll….

S. E. Wigget
3 min readJun 3, 2022
A horror anthology I added to my library: Betty Bites Back: Stories to Scare the Patriarchy. The subtitle made it irresistible.

8:30 in the morning is entirely too early to encounter any troll, let alone perhaps the most disgusting troll I’ve ever encountered. 8:30 am is too early in the morning to chant, “Kill all misogynists! Kill all misogynists!”

Wasn’t Twitter supposed to feel safer once Russia was blocked from it, because supposedly the majority of trolls are Russian bots?

When I tried to Report Mr. Overcompensating Tiny Peen, as I’ve noticed before, the list of reasons for reporting accounts on Twit was a fairly long list… but doesn’t include the basics:

This account is a troll.

This account is a bot.

So, like previously, I didn’t know which on this inadequate list to choose. I selected one — maybe something about hate speech. Because, yes, relentlessly trolling an account because its name includes the word “Lesbian” is hate speech. Accusing lesbians of being “man haters” and “penis haters” and showing a cartoon penis is hate speech. Repeatedly hurling such bizarre insults in all caps, one comment after another, for at least eight comments (which were still appearing even as I clicked on the account to Report and Block it) is hate speech and abuse. It’s also signs that the turd doing it is devoid of any redeeming quality, but I digress.

--

--

S. E. Wigget

Outside Medium, I mostly write fiction, especially paranormal and historical fantasy, under either S. E. Wigget or Susan E. Wigget.🌈 WhimsicalWords.Substack.co