A Mold Problem

S. E. Wigget
10 min readJun 28, 2022

This is about a literal mold problem, not a metaphor for the supreme court. And yes, that’s deliberately not in caps.

This is what the wall and ceiling currently look like, with the mold removed.

6/15/22

After calling mold experts and getting an appointment scheduled for tomorrow, I did some tidying up in the back apartment. Afterwards I noticed my throat acting up again, which makes me wonder if the mold is the cause. I’ve gargled a couple times since & have had soup and throat coat tea. I think I’ll make another cup of that in just a bit….

6/16/22

There’s a fairy circle of mold high in the far back corner of my house. Last week I took a sample to NW Hazmat, and they promptly sent me test results. Ascospores.

Mold experts (Dry-Pro) just came by. They’re sending in samples to make sure there isn’t asbestos, too, and it looks like they’ll be removing the mold tomorrow. They’re fast. I can expect a call later today about whether or not there’s asbestos, so I pulled out the phone and said, “Then I’d better put the volume back on.”

They use a company that specializes in the removal of asbestos. I hope there isn’t any, but it’s so common.

The mold spot is wet. It’s not clear what’s causing it, but I’ll call the roofing company and the handyman who cleaned the gutters last year.

--

--

S. E. Wigget

Outside Medium, I mostly write fiction, especially paranormal and historical fantasy, under either S. E. Wigget or Susan E. Wigget.🌈 WhimsicalWords.Substack.co